Professional Development

BIM Congress

An event organized by the civil engineering department of the Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen , Deutsche Bahn and the cooperation partners RIB, Autodesk and Leica Geosystems.

Gießener Bauforum

"Construction News"
As in previous years, new developments in the construction industry will be addressed as part of the specialist seminar.

The Further training seminar addresses employees of engineering and architectural offices, companies, administrations and test centers who deal with topics of civil engineering or architecture.

SOLID CONSTRUCTION compact seminar

The compact seminar will be Department of Civil Engineering the Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen , represented by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Minnert, aligned. During the seminar, important trends and innovations in civil engineering will be addressed.


Center for Cooperative Teaching and Learning (ZekoLL)

IWW department, e-learning advice and workshops

Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen ( THM ) University of Applied Sciences
Wiesenstr. 14
35390 Gießen

Telephone: +49 641 3090
Fax: +49 641 3092901
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spam bots! To display JavaScript must be turned on!

The Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen is a legal entity under public law and at the same time a state institution in accordance with Section 1 (1) HHG (Hessian University Act of December 14, 2009, GVBl. I, p. 666). It is legally represented by the President Prof. Dr. Günther Grabatin.

Sales tax identification number according to § 27 a sales tax law: DE 813885934

Supervisory authority:
Hessian Ministry for Science and Art
Rheinstrasse 23 - 25
65185 Wiesbaden

Responsible for content according to § 55 Abs. 2 RStV:
responsibility for the content and decides on the admissibility of data in cases of doubt.

Editorial responsibility for the YouTube offer of the Center for Cooperative Teaching and Learning (ZekoLL), IWW area, e-learning advice and workshops, of the Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen in accordance with § 55 RStV:

Wibke Fuhrberg
Wiesenstr. 14
35390 Gießen


The THM promotes and demands the didactic and technical Professional Development of its teachers and has this claim in the principles of good teaching formulated, which were passed by the Senate in 2008. The university didactics of the THM is a "permanent task in the area of ​​teaching and learning: IWW/academic personnel development" in the center for cooperative teaching and learning ( ZekoLL) structurally anchored.

The offer includes university didactic workshops, university didactic coaching, tutor qualification, mentorship and E-learning. Further offers in the area of ​​internal academic Professional Development particularly address topics from the areas of academic personnel development, university development and university management, as well as quality development in the context of studying and teaching. In addition, target group-specific needs are addressed within the framework of the internal scientific Professional Development addressed.

In the teaching and learning workshop ZekoLL all teachers, departments and "central tasks" can implement their own projects for the further development of their teaching and learning concepts with internal and external support.

You will find a selection of conferences and other events in the field of university didactics here.

 


In addition to the face-to-face Degree Courses , the THM also offers working people the opportunity to continue their academic education.

In the distance learning center in Friedberg, part-time master's and certificate degrees can be obtained.

The Center for Dual University Studies (ZDH) in Wetzlar is the provider of dual Degree Courses and Professional Development courses, which are carried out as part of StudiumPlus . Here you will find Professional Development degree courses (Bachelor/Master), Professional Development modules and certificate courses.

The THM Business School of the Department of Economics in Gießen offers a part-time MBA course in English.


As mentors, teachers and students support the self-management of students and thus improve their ability to study. As part of the BMBF project "Class in the crowd - The way of THM " (KIM) a mentoring system is being developed which, by increasing the quality and intensity of support throughout the entire period of study up to the transition to working life, is intended to promote satisfaction with the studies and thus reduce dropouts and changes in studies.

The mentoring programmes that are implemented in the individual departments can be IWW be supported within the framework of training courses and the support of concept developments.


Student tutors can receive further training in university didactics free of charge in order to improve their teaching. The didactic and methodical knowledge that is imparted ensures that tutorials are planned and carried out, which promote active learning among the students. That Tutor qualification programme “Learn to teach – learn to lead” consists of a basic and several advanced qualifications that can be attended independently of each other. Further information on the events as well as dates and registration options can be found here here.

Please note: For tutors who are interested in the project "Class in the crowd" (KiM) are financed, participation in the tutor programme is contractually binding. We have created various options for you so that you can put together a qualification programme that is right for you: Please select as KiM tutor from the following three variants the right offer for you:

1) Participation in 1x basic qualification + 1x advanced qualification 6.5 hours or

2) Participation in 1x basic qualification + 1x advanced qualification 4.5 hours + 1x reflection meeting or 

3) Participation in 1x basic qualification + 2x sitting in on the tutorial (request and registration by e-mail) + 1x reflection meeting

 

In addition to attending the individual qualification courses, tutors receive support during the semester in the form of a process support offered, e.g. through job shadowing and/or reflection meetings.

 


Professional Development workshops

  • For executives in the state of Hesse, the Central Further education of the Hessian state administration an annual Further education programme. If you are interested, please speak up Personnel development department because it provides you with administrative support.

  • The “Scientific Professional Development Working Group of the Hessian Universities of Applied Sciences” (AGWW) offers all employees an annual Professional Development programme, which also includes the area of ​​leadership skills. The correspondingly marked workshops are accredited by the HMdIS and are recognized as Further education within the framework of the Further education concept. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact IWW.

  • This is complementary to these programmes Personnel development department for managers and administrative staff In-house offers such as workshops and seminars, also on management issues. If necessary, individual coaching offers and support for team building projects are also provided. Furthermore, the Personnel Development department advises executives on the sensible application of various human resource development tools, such as B. the annual meeting. Please also contact us if you are interested in external Further and Professional Development offers.

Managers of the departments can take advantage of individual advice and external coaching provided by IWW can be designed and organized.


Professors, research assistants, teachers for special tasks and lecturers at THM can take advantage of a comprehensive range of Professional Development , advice and services free of charge:

Regular university Further education programmes are within the framework of two cooperations and internally by the Internal Scientific Professional Development – ​​University Didactics and E-Learning (IWW) offered:

  • The “Scientific Professional Development Working Group of the Hessian Universities of Applied Sciences” (AGWW) offers all employees a Professional Development programme that, among other topics, also includes the area of ​​university didactics. Newly appointed professors will find helpful support in starting their teaching career in the “University Didactics Introductory Week”.

  • The "Higher Education Network Central Hesse" (hdm) enables all teachers at the three universities in central Hesse to take part in a purely university didactic Professional Development programme. The certificate serves as proof of the acquired qualification "Competence for professional university teaching" offered.

  • Complementary to these cooperation programmes, IWW offers as required university-internal further education and short workshops for THM teachers.

Lecturers at IWW receive university didactic advice in particular from the university didactic coaching. Lecturers are individually supported in the conception, implementation and reflection of courses and examinations in the sense of student-centred teaching and learning ("shift from teaching to learning"). Depending on the concerns of the lecturers, feedback on their own teaching activities can be given as part of a teaching visit (on request with video feedback), support with the conception and introduction of new teaching concepts and examination formats in practice or advice on the implementation of e-learning applications in teaching.


Quick access to our internal events

The department for personnel development primarily supports the administrative-technical, non-academic employees of the university in acquiring and maintaining professional qualifications and motivation. We plan and organize according to needs and target groups internal events. If you do not find the Further education you are looking for in the current offer, you are welcome to do so  Form with suggestions for your personal Professional Development needs.

Personnel Development will also be happy to advise you on the selection of suitable candidates external Further educational measures. These should be coordinated with your manager to match your development ideas (e.g. as part of an annual appraisal).

The executives are according to the " Further education concept 2018 for the Hessian state administration" Committed to regular management training of 10 days within 5 years. In addition, necessary professional Further training should be carried out.

Weiterbildung

BIM Kongress

Eine Veranstaltung des Fachbereichs Bauwesen der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen, der Deutschen Bahn sowie den Kooperationspartnern RIB, Autodesk und Leica Geosystems.

Gießener Bauforum

"Aktuelles aus dem Bauwesen"
Wie auch in den vergangenen Jahren werden im Rahmen des Fachseminars neue Entwicklungen im Bauwesen angesprochen.

Mit dem Fortbildungsseminar werden Mitarbeiter von Ingenieur- und Architekturbüros, Unternehmen, Verwaltungen und Prüfstellen angesprochen, die sich mit Themen des Bauingenieurwesens bzw. der Architektur befassen.

MASSIVBAU Kompaktseminar

Das Kompaktseminar wird vom Fachbereich Bauwesen der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen, vertreten durch Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Minnert, ausgerichtet. Im Rahmen des Seminars werden wichtige Tendenzen und Neuerungen im Bauingenieurwesen angesprochen.


Zentrum für kooperatives Lehren und Lernen (ZekoLL)

Bereich IWW, E-Learning-Beratung und -Workshops

Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen (THM) University of Applied Sciences
Wiesenstr. 14
35390 Gießen

Telefon: +49 641 3090
Telefax: +49 641 3092901
E-Mail: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Die Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen ist eine rechtsfähige Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts und zugleich staatliche Einrichtung gemäß § 1 (1) HHG (Hessisches Hochschulgesetz vom 14. Dezember 2009, GVBl. I, S. 666). Sie wird gesetzlich vertreten durch den Präsidenten Prof. Dr. Günther Grabatin.

Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer gemäß § 27 a Umsatzsteuergesetz: DE 813885934

Zuständige Aufsichtsbehörde:
Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst
Rheinstraße 23 - 25
65185 Wiesbaden

Inhaltlich Verantwortlicher gemäß § 55 Abs. 2 RStV:
inhaltliche Verantwortung und entscheidet in Zweifelsfällen über die Zulässigkeit von Daten.

Für das YouTube-Angebot des Zentrums für kooperatives Lehren und Lernen (ZekoLL), Bereich IWW, E-Learning-Beratung und -Workshops, der Technischen Hochschule Mittelhessen ist redaktionell verantwortlich gemäß § 55 RStV:

Wibke Fuhrberg
Wiesenstr. 14
35390 Gießen


Die THM fördert und fordert die didaktische und fachliche Weiterbildung ihrer Lehrenden und hat diesen Anspruch in den Grundsätzen für gute Lehre formuliert, die 2008 vom Senat verabschiedet wurden. Die Hochschuldidaktik der THM ist als „Daueraufgabe im Bereich Lehren und Lernen: IWW/akademische Personalentwicklung“ im Zentrum für kooperatives Lehren und Lernen (ZekoLL) strukturell verankert.

Das Angebot umfasst hochschuldiaktische Workshops, hochschuldidaktisches Coaching, Tutorenqualifizierung, Mentoring und E-Learning. Weitere Angebote im Bereich der internen wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung adressieren insbesondere Themen aus den Bereichen der akademischen Personalentwicklung, der Hochschulentwicklung bzw. des Hochschulmanagements sowie der Qualitätsentwicklung im Kontext von Studium und Lehre. Darüber hinaus werden zielgruppenspezifische Bedarfe im Rahmen der internen wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung adressiert.

In der Lehr-Lernwerkstatt des ZekoLL können alle Lehrenden, Fachbereiche und „Zentrale Aufgaben“ mit interner und externer Unterstützung eigene Vorhaben zur Weiterentwicklung ihrer Lehr- und Lernkonzepte umsetzen.

Eine Auswahl an Tagungen und anderen Veranstaltungen im Bereich der Hochschuldidaktik  finden Sie hier.

 


Die THM bietet neben den Präsenz-Studiengängen auch für Berufstätige die Möglichkeit, sich wissenschaftlich weiterzubilden.

Im Fernstudienzentrum in Friedberg können berufsbegleitend Master- und Zertifikatsabschlüsse erworben werden.

Das Zentrum Duales Hochschulstudium (ZDH) in Wetzlar ist Träger von dualen Studiengängen und Weiterbildungsangeboten, die im Rahmen von StudiumPlus durchgeführt werden. Hier finden Sie Weiterbildungsstudiengänge (Bachelor/Master), Weiterbildungsmodule und Zertifikatslehrgänge.

Die THM Business School des Fachbereichs Wirtschaft in Gießen bietet ein berufsbegleitendes MBA-Studium auf Englisch.


Lehrende und Studierende unterstützen als Mentorinnen und Mentoren das Selbstmanagement von Studierenden und verbessern damit deren Studierfähigkeit. Im Rahmen des BMBF-Projekts „Klasse in der Masse - Der Weg der THM" (KIM) wird ein Mentoring-System entwickelt, das durch eine Erhöhung der Betreuungsqualität und –intensität während der gesamten Studienzeit bis zum Übergang ins Berufsleben die Zufriedenheit mit dem Studium fördern und somit Studienabbrüche und -wechsel reduzieren soll.

Die Mentoring-Programme, die an den einzelnen Fachbereichen umgesetzt werden, können durch IWW im Rahmen von Schulungen und der Begleitung von Konzeptentwicklungen unterstützt werden.


Studentische Tutorinnen und Tutoren können sich kostenfrei hochschuldidaktisch weiterbilden, um ihre Lehre zu verbessern. Die vermittelten didaktischen und methodischen Kenntnisse gewährleisten eine Planung und Durchführung von Tutorien, die das aktive Lernen der Studierenden fördern. Das Tutorenqualifizierungsprogramm „Lehren lernen – Leiten lernen“ besteht aus einer Basis- und mehreren Aufbauqualifizierungen, die unabhängig voneinander besucht werden können. Weitere Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen sowie Termine und Anmeldemöglichkeiten finden Sie hier.

Bitte beachten Sie: Für Tutorinnen und Tutoren, die über das Projekt "Klasse in der Masse" (KiM) finanziert werden, ist eine Teilnahme am Tutorenprogramm per Vertrag verbindlich. Damit Sie individuell ein für sich passendes Qualifizierungsprogramm zusammenstellen können, haben wir für Sie unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten erstellt: Bitte wählen Sie als KiM-Tutor aus den folgenden drei Varianten das für Sie passende Angebot:

1) Teilnahme an 1x Basisqualifizierung + 1x Aufbauqualifizierung 6,5 Std.  oder

2) Teilnahme an 1x Basisqualifizierung + 1x Aufbauqualifizierung 4,5 Std. + 1x Reflexionstreffen oder 

3) Teilnahme an 1x Basisqualifizierung + 2x Hospitation im Tutorium (Anfrage sowie Anmeldung per E-mail) + 1x Reflexionstreffen

 

Neben dem Besuch der einzelnen Qualifizierungen wird den Tutorinnen und Tutoren Unterstützung während des Semesters in Form einer Prozessbegleitung angeboten, z.B. durch Hospitationen und/oder Reflexionstreffen.

 


Weiterbildungsworkshops

  • Für Führungskräfte des Landes Hessen bietet die Zentrale Fortbildung der hessischen Landesverwaltung ein jährliches Fortbildungsprogramm. Sprechen Sie bei Interesse bitte das Referat Personalentwicklung an, da es Sie hierbei administrativ unterstützt.

  • Die „Arbeitsgemeinschaft Wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung der hessischen Fachhochschulen" (AGWW) bietet allen Beschäftigten ein jährliches Weiterbildungsprogramm, das auch den Bereich der Führungskompetenz umfasst. Die entsprechend gekennzeichneten Workshops sind vom HMdIS akkreditiert und werden als Fortbildung im Rahmen des Fortbildungskonzepts anerkannt. Bei Fragen und Anregungen wenden Sie sich bitte an IWW.

  • Komplementär zu diesen Programmen bietet das Referat Personalentwicklung für die Führungskräfte und Mitarbeitenden der Verwaltung Inhouseangebote wie Workshops und Seminare, auch zu Führungsthemen. Im Bedarfsfall werden auch individuelle Coachingangebote und Unterstützung bei Teambildungsprojekten vermittelt. Des weiteren berät das Referat Personalentwicklung Führungskräfte über die sinnvolle Anwendung diverser Personalentwicklungsinstrumente, wie z. B. das Jahresgespräch. Sprechen Sie uns außerdem an, wenn Sie an externen Fort- und Weiterbildungsangeboten interessiert sind.

Führungskräfte der Fachbereiche können eine individuelle Beratung und ein externes Coaching in Anspruch nehmen, das von IWW konzipiert und organisiert werden kann.


Professor/-innen, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter/-innen sowie Lehrkräfte für besondere Aufgaben und Lehrbeauftragte der THM können kostenfrei ein umfassendes Weiterbildungs-, Beratungs- und Serviceangebot in Anspruch nehmen:

Regelmäßige hochschuldidaktische Fortbildungsprogramme werden im Rahmen von zwei Kooperationen und intern durch die Interne Wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung – Hochschuldidaktik und E-Learning (IWW) angeboten:

  • Die „Arbeitsgemeinschaft Wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung der hessischen Fachhochschulen" (AGWW) bietet allen Bediensteten ein Weiterbildungsprogramm, das neben anderen Themen auch den Bereich der Hochschuldidaktik beinhaltet. Neu berufene Professorinnen und Professoren finden in der „Hochschuldi­daktischen Einführungswoche“ hilfreiche Unterstützung beim Einstieg in die Lehrtätigkeit.

  • Das „Hochschuldidaktische Netzwerk Mittelhessen" (HDM) ermöglicht allen Lehrenden der drei mittelhessischen Hochschulen die Teilnahme an einem rein hochschuldidaktischen Weiterbildungsprogramm. Zum Nachweis der erworbenen Qualifikation wird das Zertifikat „Kompetenz für professionelle Hoch­schullehre“ angeboten.

  • Komplementär zu diesen Kooperationsprogrammen bietet IWW nach Bedarf hochschulinterne Weiterbil­dungen und Kurzworkshops für Lehrende der THM.

Hochschuldidaktische Beratung  erhalten Lehrende bei IWW insbesondere durch das hochschuldidaktische Coaching. Lehrende werden bei der Konzeption, Durchführung und Reflexion von Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen im Sinne des studierendenzentrierten Lehrens und Lernens („Shift from teaching to learning") individuell begleitet. Je nach Anliegen der Lehrenden kann ein Feedback zur eigenen Lehrtätigkeit im Rahmen eines Lehrbesuchs (auf Wunsch mit Videofeedback), eine Unterstützung bei der Konzeption und Einführung neuer Lehrkonzepte und Prüfungsformate in der Praxis oder eine Beratung zur Umsetzung von E-Learning-Anwendungen in der Lehre angefragt werden.


Schnellzugang zu unseren internen Veranstaltungen

Das Referat für Personalentwicklung unterstützt vorrangig die administrativ-technischen, nicht wissenschaftlichen Beschäftigten der Hochschule beim Erwerb und Erhalt von beruflichen Qualifikationen und Motivation. Wir planen und organisieren bedarfs- und zielgruppenorientierte interne Veranstaltungen. Sollten Sie bei dem derzeitigen Angebot nicht die gewünschte Fortbildung finden, können Sie uns auch gern das Formular mit Anregungen für Ihren persönlichen Weiterbildungsbedarf zusenden.

Die Personalentwicklung berät Sie auch gerne bei der Auswahl von geeigneten externen Fortbildungsmaßnahmen. Diese sollten mit Ihrer Führungskraft passend zu Ihren Entwicklungsvorstellungen abgestimmt sein (z.B. im Rahmen eines Jahresgespräches).

Die Führungskräfte sind gemäß dem "Fortbildungskonzept 2018 für die hessische Landesverwaltung" zu regelmäßiger Führungsfortbildung im Umfang von 10 Tagen innerhalb von 5 Jahren verpflichtet. Darüber hinaus sollten erforderliche fachliche Fortbildungen vorgenommen werden.