Erasmus+ EU Programme for Education, Training, Youth and Sport

ERASMUSPlus Logo f Webseite Programme overview

Erasmus+ is a programme of the European Union for education, training, youth and sport and combines all previous EU programmes for lifelong learning, youth and sport as well as European cooperation programmes in the higher education sector. 

Erasmus+ currently has a budget totalling 14.8 bn euros and by 2020, over four million people will have benefited from this EU funding. The purpose of the seven year programme is to improve people's skills and their employability and to promote the modernization of systems in place for education and training and for child and youth welfare. More information on the ERASMUS+ programme is available at the European Commission's website.


The following countries are currently participating in the ERASMUS programme: the 28 EU member countries, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Turkey and the former Yugoslav republic of Macedonia.

In key action 1 (mobility of individuals) the ERASMUS+ programme promotes the following mobility projects:

+ Student mobility (SMS)
+ Teacher mobility (STA)
+ Staff mobility (STT)

The EU programme called ERASMUS is an acronym for the "European Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students" and its major goal is to promote student and teacher mobility. Students studying in another participating country must stay at least three months and may stay no longer than one year. The length of stay for staff and professors is different.

Every higher education institution participating in and/or wishing to apply for participation in the 2014-2020 EU programme for education, training, youth and sport must have a valid Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE).

The ECHE is awarded by the European Commission and it confirms that a higher education institution meets all requirements to participate in the Erasmus+ programme. The THM's ECHE: ECHE_THM.pdf, EPS.


Students enrolled in a German higher education institution are eligible for ERASMUS+  mobility grants. Besides German citizens and citizens of those countries participating in the programme, citizens of non-EU countries can also take part if they are planning to finish a degree course in Germany and receive an accredited degree. Exchange students are not eligible for ERASMUS+ grants.

Lecturers and other staff members must be employed at a German higher education institution to be eligible for participation.

Liability clause

"This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this publication reflects solely the views of the author, and the Commission shall not be liable for any use of the information contained therein."

Special needs allowances

Students and staff members with disabilities or exceptional special needs may receive extra funding to cover the associated costs of a stay abroad as part of the ERASMUS+ programme. This applies for all types of ERASMUS+ mobility projects (study abroad, internship and mobility for teaching and training purposes).

German Academic Exchange Service

You can receive more detailed information and advice on ERASMUS+ mobility projects at the
German Academic Exchange Service
National Agency for EU Higher Education Cooperation
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn
Tel.: +49(0)228/882-578
Fax: +49(0)228/882-555
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

DAAD 450 33 hks44 100black